Academic Year / Calendar and timetables / National Holidays

University of Macedonia has a 10 month academic year period. Each academic year is divided into two semesters (four month period) and three examination sessions with holidays in between.

Each semester normally consists of 13 full weeks of instruction and three or four of examination, but every year the dates differ.
For the academic year 2017-2018:

Academic calendar:

Autumn semester

25/9/2017 - 13/1/2018

Spring semester

12/2/2018 - 2/6/2018

1st examination session

15/1/2018 - 9/2/2018

2nd examination session

4/6/2018 - 29/6/2018

3rd examination session(repetitive period)

1st September – 30st September



National Holidays

St. Demetrius’  Day (Religious Holiday)

26th October

National Holiday

28th October

Student’s Uprising

17th November

Christmas Holidays

23rd December until 7th January

Religious School Day

30th January

Clean Monday (Ash Monday)

14th March

National holiday

25th March

Easter holidays

From the Monday before to the Sunday after Easter

Labour Day

1st May

Holy Spirit Day

20th June